President John Skipper on ESPN’s Talent

(Nick Caito/ESPN Images)
(Nick Caito/ESPN Images)

At ESPN, we have more than 1,000 public-facing talent, clearly the broadest, most experienced and most diverse collection of writers, analysts, hosts, commentators, reporters and expert opinion leaders in the sports media industry.

It is a also a remarkably stable group, though some change is inevitable for a variety of reasons.

While some may leave, ESPN has always continued to thrive and we have a demonstrated track record of the ability to identify and develop talented people. The current and next generation of great talent lives here at ESPN and we look forward to showcasing them across our unparalleled collection of platforms.

Nearly 200 contributors have signed
new ESPN agreements within the past 12 months
By Josh Krulewitz

ESPN’s retention rate for our talent continues to be extremely high. Some of the most impactful voices across various sports and programs are in the midst of long-term agreements with ESPN.

The recent list of new and returning contributors over the last 12 months alone (see below) continues that trend.

“Understandably when there is a high-profile change, the picture might be viewed through a very small lens,” said ESPN Executive Vice President, Production and Programming, John Wildhack. “Yet the facts are that more than 95 percent of our talent have remained at ESPN and there are a wide range of circumstances surrounding the few who don’t.”

Below is a sample of names from the list of the nearly 200 who have signed new ESPN agreements within the past 12 months: Victoria Arlen, Teddy Atlas, Bill Barnwell, Michelle Beadle, Jerome Bettis, Chauncey Billups, Aaron Boone, Mack Brown, Marysol Castro, Lee Corso, Jay Crawford, Ian Darke, Mike Ditka, Elle Duncan, Neil Everett, Chris Evert,Kate Fagan, Mary Joe Fernandez, Matt Hasselbeck, Raul Ibanez, Bomani Jones, Danny Kanell, Michael Kay, Tim Kurkjian, Suzy Kolber, Don LaGreca, Bob Ley, David Lloyd, Kenny Mayne, Sean McDonough, Patrick McEnroe, Tracy McGrady, Chris McKendry, Jane McManus, Todd McShay, Jessica Mendoza, Rachel Nichols, Molly Qerim, Dan Rafael, Ryen Russillo, John Saunders, Jeremy Schaap, Ramona Shelburne, Pam Shriver, Jaymee Sire, Pablo Torre, Scott Van Pelt, Stan Verrett, Trey Wingo, Charles Woodson, Steve Young.

Back to top button