#TBT: ESPN’s very own Heisman winners

ESPN’s lineup of college football and NFL commentators boasts some pretty successful former players — including five who won the coveted Heisman Trophy, which annually recognizes the most outstanding player in college football.

Take a walk down memory lane with Andre Ware, Desmond Howard, Charles Woodson, Ricky Williams and Tim Tebow, who were all recognized for their remarkable performances during their college football days.

This year also marks the 25th anniversary of Howard receiving the award. Who could forget this infamous Heisman pose?

The 82nd Annual Heisman Presentation Presented by Nissan will be telecast Saturday, Dec. 10, at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN.

NameCollege Heisman YearESPN Role
Andre WareUniversity of Houston1989College Football analyst
Desmond HowardUniversity of Michigan1991CFB analyst/GameDay contributor
Charles WoodsonUniversity of Michigan1997NFL analyst
Ricky WilliamsUniversity of Texas1998Longhorn Network analyst
Tim TebowUniversity of Florida2007SEC Network analyst
Watch The Home Depot College Football Awards tonight

Tonight’s show is hosted by Chris Fowler and College GameDay regulars Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard with Samantha Ponder and Tom Rinaldi reporting. Viewers will hear from the nation’s top position players, past award winners and top coaches during the two-hour telecast (7-9 p.m. ET on ESPN). See the nominees and show highlights here.

Also, it has been announced that the The Home Depot College Football Awards will remain at the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta through 2020.

The full schedule:

  • College Football Awards Red Carpet Special Presented by Mohawk, 6-7 p.m. on ESPNU
  • The Home Depot College Football Awards, 7-9 p.m. on ESPN
  • Championship Drive: CFB Playoff Preview, 9-10 p.m. on ESPN

Keri Potts contributed to this post.

Back to top button