ESPN History

NSMA Honors ESPN’S Ley, Kornheiser, Burke and Wojnarowski

(Illustration: Emily Archacki/Photos: ESPN Images)

Today, the National Sports Media Association (NSMA) announced its 2019 Hall of Fame class, as well as its national and state award winners. ESPN is well-represented.

Outside the Lines host Bob Ley, the 2018 Sports Emmy Award winner who joined ESPN in 1979 and is the company’s longest-tenured commentator, and Pardon The Interruption co-host Tony Kornheiser, who spent 35 years as a sportswriter at The Washington Post in addition to his award-winning television and radio career, were named to the NSMA Hall of Fame.

NBA analyst/reporter Doris Burke, who was named the 2018 winner of the Curt Gowdy Award from the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame for her outstanding contributions to the sport, was named the 2018 National Sportscaster of the Year – the first woman to win a NSMA National Award.

Senior NBA Insider Adrian Wojnarowski, basketball’s leading news-breaker and a two-time winner of the Associated Press Spots Editors’ “Columnist of the Year” award, was named the National Sportswriter of the Year for the second straight year.

Ley, Kornheiser, Burke and Wojnarowski will be honored during the 60th annual NSMA Awards Weekend, June 22-24, in Winston-Salem, N.C.

Back to top button