ESPN announcers, columnists among finalists for National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association Awards

ESPN commentators Dick Vitale (L) and Dan Shulman. (ESPN)

The National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA) has announced the finalists for its 2012 awards and ESPN finds itself well-represented on the list with a total of nine nominees across four national categories.

Last year’s National Sportscaster of the Year, Dan Shulman, is one of three ESPN voices nominated in the category this year. He is joined by Brad Nessler and Mike Tirico.

In the Hall of Fame Sportscaster category, Dick Vitale and Chris Berman and the late Chris Economacki are ESPN (and ABC) nominees. The Hall of Fame Sportswriter category includes ESPN’s Rick Reilly.

Reilly is also nominated in the National Sportswriter of the Year category, as is Grantland’s Bill Simmons.

In addition, Dan Le Batard, host of Dan Le Batard is Highly Questionable, was nominated as Florida Sportswriter of the Year, while frequent Around the Horn and Sports Reporters contributor Bob Ryan was nominated for the same award for Massachusetts.’s Ian O’Connor was nominated for New York Sportswriter of the Year.

Voting is conducted in December by NSSA members and winners will be announced later in 2013.

Back to top button