AnnouncementsCOVID-19ESPNESPN ImagesLittle League World SeriesMLBNews

A Continuing Tradition of Joy: Little League World Series Through the Years

With a newly-announced Little League International extension, Front Row recalls some special moments

Yesterday, ESPN and Little League International announced an eight-year, multi-platform media rights extension that will keep Little League exclusively on ESPN Platforms through 2030.

ESPN first began televising Little League games in 1983 and has done so each year since 1987. ABC began broadcasting the Little League World Series in 1963, which makes this one of the longest-standing league/media rights holder relationships in all of sports, only behind The Masters on CBS.

Below are images through the years highlighting traditions old and new, like the timeless sight of spectators on the hill at Howard J. Lamade Stadium and the recent memories of the MLB Little League Classic, which returns in 2021.


Mark Peterson / ESPN Images

The Kirkland National Little League of Kirkland, Washington, which inspired the 30 for 30 film Little Big Men, defeated the Puzih Little League of Chiayi County, Taiwan to earn the first United States’ Little League Baseball World Series title in over a decade.


The East Marietta National Little League of Marietta, Georgia, defeated the Liquito Hernandez Little League of Barahona, Dominican Republic.


ABC Photo Archive

President George W. Bush greets players at the 2001 Little League World Series.


ABC Photo Archive

Orel Hershiser, Brent Musburger and Dusty Baker provide commentary at the 2007 Little League World Series Championship Game.


Joe Faraoni/ESPN Images

Paul Lo Duca (l) interviews players from Par-Troy East (Pa.) during the Little League World Series Mid-Atlantic Regional Semifinal.


Allen Kee / ESPN Images

Tim Kurkjian, David Ross and Karl Ravech on the set of Baseball Tonight, live from the inaugural MLB Little League Classic at BB&T Ballpark at Historic Bowman Field.


Phil Ellsworth / ESPN Images

South Williamsport, PA – August 15, 2019: Howard J. Lamade Stadium during the 2019 Little League World Series.



Back to top button